• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

1947 Unimog 401

Spent the last 6 months or so building a 2004 Ford Bronco Concept (it's not finished yet). I mentioned on a local board that I intend bringing it to the nationals and it was subtly suggested not to use it as a comp rig - apparently they tend to get banged up (I'm new to this hobby so have virtually zero driving experience, and absolutely zero comp experience).

fullbody33.jpg

I recently bought a China JK body, and at first planned to put a GCM Skeleton chassis under it, but decided against that because I've thrown enough cash into this and should probably dial it back a little.

And so I decided to do a quick-and-dirty beater body for the SWB (278mm wheelbase) Ascender chassis I have under the Bronco. Best idea I came up with was the first production Unimog, before being bought out by Daimler Benz.

reference01.jpg

In keeping with quick-and-dirty, I spent this afternoon cutting out some body panels...

panels01.jpg

...and assembling them.

cab01.jpg

The truck will be Olive Drab, with RC4WD Mud Bashers on red wheels (GMade NR01s), and be designed to take a beating. The idea is for it to be easy to build, easy to repair, and still retaining an element of uniqueness.

Last edited:
Great start on the Mog, always liked the early Unimog stuff, awesome looking choice. "thumbsup" Saw one in person on the Rubicon a couple years ago in stock form, super cool rig for sure.