• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Few questions from a Capra noob

Ty89m

Hey all,

I'm new to the surface hobby, though been flying RC heli's (and some planks) for about 11 years now, so reasonably well versed in the basics. That said, I've now acquired (and built) the SCX10 III and the TRX-4 kits, and seem to have caught the bug! I've got the Capra kit sitting here ready to build as well, and wanted to run through my electronics and see if I'm on right track...

First off, I've got more reading to do when it comes to brushed motors and crawler gearing, as my experience is exclusively brushless thus far. The Capra is the first kit where I'm using my own selection of electronics (I'm using the same electronics in my SCX10 that came in the RTR version for now) and following some other's footsteps I've opted to go with the Holmes 500V3 servo, Hobbywing 1080, and Holmes Crawlmaster Sport 16T. I also picked up a Reedy Radon in 16T as well, may use that in a different build.

I grabbed an 11T pinion for the Capra as well, as it seems stock pinion is bit much at 14T for these builds. Does that seem appropriate? Any great resources on understanding crawler motors and gearing? Like I said, I'm used to calculating headspeed on heli's with a single main gear and pinion, as well as kv and Lipo cell count, so this is all new to me...

That said, I would like to try a brushless system (likely a Spektrum as I like the telemetry and have a DX5 Pro) but would need to figure out the ins/outs of gearing to make a proper selection on kv rating etc.