• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

A Newbies Experience with the Yeti XL Kit

gotcorey

I am a newbie. I have never built an r/c kit before of any kind. I only own 1 r/c. A Traxxas 1-16 Mini E-Revo. Had it for about 6 months now and caught the r/c bug. Saw the Yeti Kit on Axial's site and got excited to build my own. These are just my impressions and experiences from a newbies point of view. Take them with a grain of salt.

I had no tools for building an r/c. Period. This was going to be expensive...

After pre-ordering the kit I went to work researching what electronics and add-ons to put in the rig. I watched all the youTube videos I could find from RCNetwork, Scale4x4RC and FastEddy.

ESC/Motor:
Tekin 1/8 RX8 Gen2 Brushless ESC/4038 Motor 2250kV Sadly not water resistant but I've seen others plasti dip it. I'm OK with only running 4S.... for now.

Servo:
Futaba S9157 Digital High-Torque Servo (Torque: 425oz-in (30.6kg/cm) @ 6V, Speed: 0.14 @ 6V) Sadly not water resistant. May have gone another route had I got a chance to see what others were using. Not using BEC. ESC says 6V-7.4V/7Amps.

Radio:
FlySky GT-3C 2.4GHz Radio Controller

Batteries:
SPC LiPo Power, Lithium Polymer (LiPo) Battery Pack; 8200mAh, 50C, 2S, 7.4V Soft-Case x2

Charger:
Advantage Touch Duo AC/DC Charger

Hop-Ups:
Axial Yeti XL Sealed Bearing Kit
Axial AX30836 Aluminum Servo Horn 25T
Aluminum Steering Bellcrank & Plate
Steel Pivot Ball 3x6.8x8mm 8 pcs For Axial Yeti XL x3 for all links.

MISC:
Traxxas 3070 HC Connector, Set of 2
Du-Bro 438 3/16" Diameter White Heat Shrink Tubing