• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

protecting electronics from water/mud/snow

amazingjameso

Hi Everyone, i'm new to this hobby. My RC crawler out of the box is water resistant to an extent but i was wondering if anyone goes further and perhaps covers some of the wires/electronics from splashes. Like using plastic wraps with tape or zip ties to cover things that may be exposed? or is the stock water tight fittings good enough?

The receiver could be put into one of many receiver boxes available that are waterproof, like the traxxas ones that come on their rtr's.

Or use a latex balloon the "Og way", and stuff the receiver into and a zip tie it shut.

Wires are fine as they are.

Servo should be replaced with a Wp one regardless.

Esc should be replaced with a wp one that you can afford.

Last edited:
Yea from watching some youtube vids and reading some stuff on the internet the chassis can get wet the way its designed but cant be fully submerged for long periods of time. My crawler is the Laegendary 1/10 scale Grando from amazon. But reading your post, looks like i should still consider upgrading to more WP components to protect the servo and receiver. which the receiver already looks like it's in a box. I tried inserting a pic but still cant figure that out yet lol.

Hobbywing 1080 G2 ESC would be a good investment. Not sure about the quality/ longevity of the Grando but if you ever decide to replace it with a different brushed vehicle, the 1080 would be worth swapping over. About $43 on Amazon.