• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Wire connectors for lighting

ebeowulf17

I wasn't really sure if this should be in the newbie section or in the electronics section, but I'm definitely a newbie, so that's where I'm starting. Feel free to move the thread as appropriate.

I'm brand new to this hobby, I've got an Axial SCX10II F100 RTR, and I'm interested in rearranging the lighting. It currently has two lights on the bumper, but I want to move them into the light buckets for the actual headlights on the body. With the way the body hinges at the back, I'd need to extend the length of the LED wires quite a bit or else it would be a real pain every time I open it up.

The easiest solution would be an extension wire, but I can't seem to find one. I'd be willing to crimp or solder my own, but I can't even find the connectors to do it. It looks like the Axial lighting uses JST 1.5mm pitch connectors (JST ZH,) and I can find plenty of female connectors to make my own cords, but I can't find inline male connectors (only PCB mount male headers.)

Do you all know where I can get the matching JST connectors, or know of a good source for premade extension cables with these connectors? Alternately, are there other connectors that are more standard within the hobby (if there's a standard Molex size that's often used for lighting needs, or some other more common choice, I'd love to be more in sync with what other people and manufacturers use.)