• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Steering Servo Wire Problem

Sickles420

Newbie here "thumbsup" This is my RTR Bomber. So I bought a waterproof servo so I can run it really good on water and mud as well. Upon installation, I came across this problem. The wire is too short and I wanted to route the wire through the silicone gasket inside the waterproof receiver box. What should I do to fix this?

K8IOFaCh.jpg

Last edited:
Just keep pulling on the wire until you hear a "snap" sound. You'll have plenty of slack after that.

I ran into this exact same issue while building up my SCX10ii. A wire extension will work, but that leaves you with another connection that needs to be sealed to waterproof it. Or, you can also get a 300mm servo wire and replace the existing one. Yes, it's more work than just plugging in an extension, but you maintain a simple waterproof connection. The servo wire comes complete with connector installed and ends stripped & tinned. Carefully open the servo case, remove the "guts," and unsolder old/resolder new wire. (Don't forget to feed the new wire through the servo casing BEFORE you solder it to the board, like i did. D-oh!) Reassemble. Reinstall. Run it!!

Aside from my goof of forgetting to run the wire through the case, it was a fairly simple job, and works perfectly!

Edit: 300mm servo wire:https://www.rpphobby.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=SPMSP3004

Last edited: