• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

New To Crawling

Scale Build

Rock Stacker
Hey guys, like the title says, i'm new to crawling. I have some experience with on-road and drift RC from many years ago, but i'm clueless when it comes to crawling. I recently picked up a SCX24 and started modding it immediately. I was hooked!

This led to my next purchase, the TRX4 Sport Kit. I have assembled the kit and painted the body. I'm just trying to choose electronics now. I ordered a HobbyWing 1080 ESC, as it is highly recommended on this forum. I was also going to order a Holmes Hobbies CrawlMaster Sport 550 12T motor. I'm open to suggestions, but there seems to be good reviews for this motor and the TRX4 Sport. I'm not entering any comps, just looking to have some fun. So I'd like a motor that has low speed control for crawling and decent wheel speed for the trails. As for the servo, I settled on the Savox 1210.

I'd love some suggestions for a good radio and 3S battery. I've looked at the Spektrum DX5 Rugged and the FlySky GT5. The FlySky has a great price but feels a bit risky, I could be wrong. The Spektrum looks great, but has mixed reviews. I'd like something 5 channel so I can run my lights and eventually a winch. Any recommendations for a battery and radio, as well as any general crawling advice, would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

So I took a risk and got the GT5 and I felt the same as you, I was a little worried about it. Shortly after, my brother picked up a Dsx5.