• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Lead Free Solder Sucks!!!

picklewagon

Rock Crawler
I've been soldering RC's for quite some time-longer than I'd like to admit really. I'm talking soldering cells of matched Sanyo nicad's for gold tub RC10's when I was a kid. While I am not an expert, and don't have the steadiest hand or the patience to get it perfect, I'm an average hobby solder-er. Last night I couldn't get brushed motor tabs to tin, not at all. My Hakko 936 was cranked and nothing! I was completely frustrated until I realized I loaned my iron to my Pops, he replaced the solder he used up with lead free electronics solder and I didn't notice. Today I bought some 60/40 fine rosin core and POW, pretty, shiny, strong solder joints. I ruined a set of FXR's trying to smash them with this lead free crap... Just a warning- if your one of those that has a tough time soldering, check your heavy metals and get the good stuff!

From a user point of view the main difference between leaded and lead free soldeing is the melting temperature.
Leaded soldering melts at ~250C (IIRC) while lead free needs >300C.

That makes leaded soldering easier to use without destroying the parts soldered.

I suck azz at soldering and dread it each and everytime I have to do it. I even bought a Hakko 888d and I still suck. Please recommend us some delicious leaded solder. Can any good stuff be bought at Lowes, Home Despot or Orchard Supply?