• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

How much weight is too much

Oldyoung

I am an old timer back to the RC world after 20 years out this time at Crawler scene
I just got an Axial AX10 in very good shape full metal links, XP Digita GS1313 servo, Novak Rooster Crawler and Fifty Five motor
The wheels are weighted rear automotive lead strip 200gr each but the front ones have a mix of lead and bbs (white small balls) and in my scale they are 620 gr each
I guess is too much weight but as a newbie I rather to ask before do anything wrong
What do you guys think?

What is the RTR weight of your crawler?
Is it built to be more a scale crawler or a comp crawler?

In general, a comp crawler is 4 pounds / 1815 grams and a scale crawler is 6 pounds / 2722 grams. Your experience may vary depending on build materials. Those numbers are class weight minimums for Activated Outlaw Comp Crawlers.

The heavier the rc weighs, the harder it is on parts, including tire foams.

What is the RTR weight of your crawler?
Is it built to be more a scale crawler or a comp crawler?

In general, a comp crawler is 4 pounds / 1815 grams and a scale crawler is 6 pounds / 2722 grams. Your experience may vary depending on build materials. Those numbers are class weight minimums for Activated Outlaw Comp Crawlers.

The heavier the rc weighs, the harder it is on parts, including tire foams.
That's for competition to set minimums. People get too focused on weight numbers and forget there is a balance between weight and full performance. Light weight is just as bad for traction and too much weight.