• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

"Balance" charging LIPO batteries

Den72

Pebble Pounder
I am new to crawling but not new to LIPO batteries as I have been using them for years in airsoft.

I crossed over and was surprised to learn that the new LIPO battery chargers require you to plug in both plugs in order to balance charge the battery.

I was always under the impression that the 2s or 3s plug with a normal lipo charger did the trick.

Is this a new standard for crawling or have LIPO batteries really evolved and require this extra charging?

I am new to crawling but not new to LIPO batteries as I have been using them for years in airsoft.

I crossed over and was surprised to learn that the new LIPO battery chargers require you to plug in both plugs in order to balance charge the battery.

I was always under the impression that the 2s or 3s plug with a normal lipo charger did the trick.

Is this a new standard for crawling or have LIPO batteries really evolved and require this extra charging?
You need to balance charge LiPos unless you want unnecessary risks.

Unbalanced cells lead to puffy LiPos and dangerous situations.

Charge at 1C in Balance mode
Storage mode after use.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Just a different charger. There are balance chargers that just use the balance plug, which essentially charge each cell individually. The B3 AC charger is an example of this.

Other chargers charge all cells at once and then balance at the end. They typically have a lot more options.