• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

What would you do in this situation?

GavinTimleck

So for starters, im just getting into crawlers and I have little experience. I come from the land of 1:10 drifters :ror: and my funds are very limited
But anyway, I am purchasing a crawler and here are my options
and take in mind I am biased toward scale realism, and would probably go nuts on the body.
On craigslist I can get an scx10 honcho stock for $300 (in the box, recepit ect.)
Or an axial ax10 for considerably cheaper in a trade (aluminum links, lipo, high steer, and other goodies)

Should I choose: A) Save and get the scx10
or.. B) Buy the ax10 and buy scx frame kit and convert it
or.. C) Buy the ax10 and buy the bolt on tuber kit

What would be most beneficial?

Last edited:
If your funds are that limited you may want consider getting into this portion of the hobby, before you know it you'll have grand in each rig :shock: :lmao: Jk I would go with A. There is a huge aftermarket for the scx10, especially since you want scale. And there are plenty of free mods you can do as well.

man that's a tough one. it depends on what "considerable cheaper" is. the axles are the same between the ax10 and scx10 so if you could pick up the ax10 cheap enough and get a scx10 chassis this may be the way to go. use the axles, transmission, driveshafts, links, and electronics from the ax10 an build the scx10 frame. really it would depend on the price for me, but it sounds like the ax10 may have some upgraded parts on it that you would have to buy (or want to buy) for the honcho.