• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

SCX10 II Build

Winger27

New to the rock crawler community. I do have experience in rc cars and trucks so I know the basics. My son bought me a SCX 10 II raw builders kit for my birthday. I don't think I'll have any problem assembling it but I need to know what I need to do it right. Upgrades to the build would be helpful, shocks, settings, wheelbase etc. I know I'll need plenty of other stuff once completed. I would like quality equipment. Thanks in advance

I am relatively new to this as well and have almost finished the kit version of the SCX 10 ii. I am a little short on free time so I still need to install the electronics. I got a lot of help on here in narrowing down my choices and went with the hobby wing 1080 ESC, Holmes Hobbies shv500 V3 servo and Holmes Hobbies crawl master sport 550 13 turn motor. I have a similar set up in another rig and I like it a lot. The only difference with that truck is that I used a power hobby servo because I couldn’t find a second SHV 500 V3 at the time although now they seem to be back in stock.

Otherwise, I put the kit together stock and figured I would replace and upgrade stuff as needed. The only issue I encountered was with the transmission. I’m not sure if the instructions in the raw builders kit are the same (I believe it has a different transmission) but the instructions with my kit were incorrect or at a minimum misleading. I fussed with it for a day and then watched the video and figured it out. I also put on Chinese beadlocks from Amazon and proline Hyrax tires.