• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Question about adding weight to wheels

Greywolf74

I have a question that Id like to get expert opinions on about adding weight to wheels. Now Im a complete novice to crawlers as the only thing I own that even resembles a crawler is an SCX24 but Ive been in the RC hobby itself for somewhere around 12-14 years. Someone that I met recently tried to convince me that cutting your foams down to 3/4 of their original height and then sealing the wheels after filling the tires with water was the most amazing "mod" ever. We debated this quite heavily as I was convinced otherwise. My theory was sure it adds weight but it also would seemingly greatly reduce the tires ability to conform to what its trying to crawl over like it would normally with the air being able to escape the tire and allow the soft rubber compound to be much more pliable. Not to mention the water would ruin whats left of the foams after a period of time.