• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Older Spektrum Transmitter & Newer Receivers

Hardcoretam

Quarry Creeper
Not so much a noob with RC's but a total noob on the aftermarket 2.4ghz stuff..

About 8 years ago i bought a Spektrum DX3S
Same as this one
DX3S 3-Channel DSM Surface Radio with Telemetry (SPM3140): Spektrum - The Leader in Spread Spectrum Technology

It came with 2 receivers.

Shortly after i bought it, i fell away from the hobby.
A few months ago i've got the bug again and back into my RC's. I found the Spektrum kit in the attic still in the box unused.

The transmitter still fits my needs and i'd like to use it with all my models and just install different receivers into them. But as i only have 2 included i was wondering if i bought newer Spektrum receivers will they be compatible with this transmittor?

No, the newer receivers aren't compatible and neither are the newer transmitters compatible with the older receivers.
The DX3s still seem to sell used so you'd be able to make some $ towards a newer model. I believe Spektrum has a new model, but I'd look into a hacked GT3B for probably half the cost.
The RXs are usually under $7 and once hacked will control 8 channels and do anything you'd need

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Btw I didn't think to mention a better option is to pick up the OrangeRX they are available in DSM1 and DSM2 and can be had for under $15 usually