• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Noob looking for a tire recommendation - Redcat Gen8 Scout - Montana Weather

theBrofessor

Hello All,

I am new to the RC scene in general. I purchased a Redcat Everest-10 for my boy for Christmas, and we both fell in love with crawling, so I started the hunt for something for myself. I landed on the Redcat Gen8 Scout II as a good bang for my buck option. I am very happy with my purchase so far, but I'm looking for a tire upgrade, as that seems to be what's holding me back the most. My boy's rig is leaving me in the dust when it comes to loose surfaces like sand and snow.

I'm looking for a recommendation on something that will be good on the rocks of course, but also looser surfaces like sand/loose dirt, and snow. We run a lot in cold weather, and will run them a lot this summer when it's hot as well, so a wide variation in ambient temperatures as well.

I'm also looking at Crawler Innovations dual stage foam, soft for the front and medium for the rear I'm thinking. Does that seem like a good strategy?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I would try replacing your foams before you give up on the tires. I've found that the Gen8 tires are pretty good in looser materials... it's on smoother rocks that they really fall short. The major problem with the Gen8, especially in the cold, is that memory foam they use. It turns rock hard in anything below 75 degree temperatures and prohibits the tire from conforming at all.