• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Motor Decisions. ....

theTman

Quarry Creeper
The stock motor in my bomber is finally dying. This is my setup for reference

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?ur...share_tid=565144&share_fid=19420&share_type=t

I was going to go for another brushed motor, but I am debating a brushless motor now. If I go brushless it would be the trailmaster.

I have an original mamba max esc. Hardly saw more than a few hours on brushless when I was a kid before I got bored of high speed bashing and made my first crawler. I kept the white 3rd lead intact while I ran a 55t integy lathe motor in it. Didn't put too many hours on it, then spent about 5 or 6 years on a shelf.

I think it can still handle brushless power. Been running 3s through it in my bomber while sealed in a balloon and it never gets hot.

No way I can get a new holmes brushless esc before christmas Lol, but might be able to talk the wife up from 50 dollar holmes expert brushed motors to the trailmaster.

I have 2 questions :
First, does the dragbrake on brushless motors still suck majorily?

Second, can my bomber handle that kind of power? I can't gear down any further without having an easily stipped 9t pinion, or a 68t spur that won't fit in the cover. I still can go slow in low, just don't want to be out of control in high gear.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

You will want a sensored ESC. Brushless won't be so good sensorless.