• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

help with ECU and Motor

hboyd6

I'm new to crawling, I really need some help. I just bought a used SCX10, don't know which one it is. Would like help to find out what it is and help with the electronics. So, I have a XL5 ECU and 65x1 turns motor, not sure who makes it. Is that good for crawling? I'm having trouble with it cutting off, and bogging down. Not having any torque. The wheel base is 11 inches from center of the axel to center of the axel. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sounds like you got a Dingo. 65T motor...way too slow, try a 35T. The XL5 esc is not good for a crawler. I would recommend a Holmes Hobbies BRXL waterproof esc. What condition is the motor in (brushes, comm, springs)? Has the motor ever been very overheated? Could be very worn which would give you running problems.

The motor runs pretty hot. I don't know much about brush motors. What would be a pretty good and kinda cheap 35T motor to get? Just wondering, why isn't that ecu good for crawling?

Cheap 35t is the Novak Terra claw. They run about $17 but are not rebuildable so when it dies you have to buy another one. The xl5 is made for go fast stuff and has no drag brake. It will work OK but drag brake is real nice to have.

Not sure how to rebuild them. How do I tell if the one in mine is bad? Why does the 65T that's in it now bog down, and won't the 35T bog down worse? So, what scx10 do I have? I want to buy lower links for it

As johnnysplits stated a few posts back it looks like you have the dingo version.