• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Do I have a knockoff HH Crawlmaster Sport in my hands?

xagoras

Quarry Creeper
Until recently I was running a HH Crawlmaster Sport 13T on my rig, paired with a HB 1080 ESC. Was running great, but thought to get a replacement at some point, so I went for the 15T to get more torque.

Had the new motor in it's bag for a few months until the old one starts to show signs of wear.

A month ago, I decided to make the swap, so installed the new motor. I noticed a slight difference in the can colors. Old one had a darker red lettering, new one had a slightly brighter one. Other than that no changes were made to the rig.

The big dissapointment came during the first couple of test runs. New motor couldn't hold the rig downhill, where the old one had no problem doing so. As soon as there is a reasonable incline it just goes down without brakes at all.

So I'm thinking, did I get a cheap knockoff (if such a thing exists at all) or is it simply a matter of new brushes needing to work a little bit before they actually work?

The new motor came from a major Chinese based rc shop.

I'll try to get a picture of the 2 motors next to each other.

HH motors have a bearing on the output side and the knock offs have bushings, that’s a quick way to tell

I've spent the last half hour trying to rememebr where on earth I stored the old motor, to take pictures :ror:

Anyway, found it. Old motor (definitely genuine) on the left, new on the right:

Not sure if the slight color difference shows in the picture under this light, but it's there.