• Welcome to RCCrawler Forums.

It looks like you're enjoying RCCrawler's Forums but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members, and much more. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Axial SCX10 Basic Upgrades

Darcoop

At 52 years of age I am a newbie to the RC world. I purchased a used SCX10 Rubicon Unlimited and just won a SCX10 Deadbolt at my first Crawl for a Cure at Bear Valley Lake Resort October, 2017. Since both chassis are the same. I would like to know what basic upgrades I should do to to improve durability/reliability. During my crawl I noticed the Rubicon needed more weight in the front to keep it from tipping over. I wedge a rock between the bumper and bull bar which help. I am assuming the Deadbolt will be the same. I know some relocate the battery to the front but, I think I just want to add more weight to the front. Anyhow would love some suggestions on upgrades/mods to both without getting too carried away and breaking the bank LOL.

WELCOME TO BANKRUPTCY!

Seriously though:

Servo with guts/gusto
BEC to power your new servo
Beadlock wheels to allow tire swaps
Holmes Brushed motor
Shock rebuild with X-rings, Teflon tape and green slime
Metal lower links
Tires that stick to whatever you crawl
Two-stage foams inside your tires
Check the links in my signature (sig) below for more info

Last edited: